Feeling Older – What the Hell?

33 is my favorite number. Of all time. I don’t know if it’s normal to have favorite numbers or not, but that’s mine. Chicago Bulls fans should know why. But, if you don’t, please don’t admit that fact out loud. It’s just one more reason I feel old, but I’m handling it well because I finally AM my favorite number.  Okay. The answer is Scottie Pippen. Dear God, please don’t look him up right this second.

I started to notice that I was, actually, growing older when my students didn’t get my references in class. A few years ago. And then it was all downhill from there. You know, that one Friends episode where Monica tries to erase the messages on the machine… No?  Okay.  You know how Jerome Bettis would always manage to… Oh. No idea, huh?  Okay. It’s like on Seinfeld when Elaine wants the Big Salad. Haven’t heard of that one either, eh?  And now that I think about those moments that seem completely random, I think I should note that I am positive they actually did fit into class in some amazing way or another, I just can’t recall how right now.  Damn!  That’s another sign of old age, isn’t it?

I think the whole thing was sparked when I saw those updates in Facebook… Monica and Chandler’s twins would be 10 years old now.  What the Hell?  And then I saw an interview with Ian Ziering and the host asked him how he was handling turning 50.  What the Hell?  I know those fresh-faced kids weren’t actually high school aged when 90210 was on, but 50? WHAT THE HELL?

And then baseball season started. And the big stories were about the aging Phillies team and how the clubhouse could be considered a geriatric ward.  Excuse me?  They’re mostly in their early 30s. Like me.  I can’t wait until football season when the old timers are younger than I am.  And I see the college football players’ birth dates and think they’re still five years old because sometimes I still feel like I’m living in the 90s.

So, rather than sit and stew about my age, I decided to embrace 33. It IS my favorite number, after all. And I don’t feel 33.  Most of the time, I don’t feel like an adult at all, let alone one in my *gasp* 30s.  I just have trouble thinking about my boys not knowing who Dave Matthews is.  Or Michael Jordan.  My Dr. J. is going to be their Michael Jordan.  My Rolling Stones will be their Barenaked Ladies.  I’m going to have to turn the radio to the oldies station to tell them about Nirvana and Pearl Jam, and we’re going to have to watch old Bulls videos online.

And, just in case you’re not feeling old yet, here are some other gems for you:

  • The Giving Tree turns 50 this year
  • Finding Nemo turns 11 this year
  • The Goonies is gearing up to celebrate its 30th anniversary
  • Michael Jordan won his last championship 16 years ago
  • The Seinfeld finale aired 16 years ago
  • The Cosby Show finale aired 22 years ago

What the Hell?

(Connect with me @baileyshawley or share this post on Facebook so your friends can see what you’ve been reading.)

One thought on “Feeling Older – What the Hell?

Leave a Reply

